My DNAdventure – iamYiam genetic profiling (part 1)

iamyiam.com was founded by Lorena Puica after a series of serious health issues forced her to find an easier way to bridge the two worlds of modern science and natural health.

1

Dubbed the “Airbnb of natural health therapies”, iamYiam is a health and wellbeing plan backed by 169,000+ human based scientific research papers (and counting). The idea is to bring together quality practitioners of natural health (e.g. meditation, yoga, acupuncture, massage, psychosomatic therapies, retreats & more) with consumers and corporates, and make it easy to book the best wellness experiences, tailored exactly to individual needs and goals via genetic profiling, as well as a lifestyle questionnaire.

2

So here I go….I am strangely excited and obviously a bit nervous about what my results will tell me.  The first step is an at home saliva test which will be sent off to be tested as part of a genetic profiling technology – testing for 40 DNA parameters across diet, nutrients, health and fitness.

3

The test is taken first thing in the morning. Simply rinse the mouth with water and ten minutes later prepare the saliva sample…

4

Mix with the formula provided and drop into the prepaid envelope. Send.

The sample will tell everything about my health, nutrition and fitness story – and with the aid of genetic science & over 160,000 scientific research papers, iamYiam will translate my DNA into a personalised activity, nutritional and health plan.

Maybe I shouldn’t be so scared about a heart attack but should track my insulin more closely.  Imagine that I am gluten tolerant and can actually enjoy pasta and breads without worry (in moderate amounts, of course). What if I could benefit from eating more slowly and running less to lose more weight… These are only a few of the answers that genetic profiling can answer.
Check back in soon when my results will be in for this blog’s part 2.

Leave a comment